Foods To Avoid With A Gluten Intolerance

Many people avoid gluten, like wheat, barley, and rye, due to personal preference or a medical condition ~ NCBI

Medical conditions such as wheat allergy, Celiac disease, and non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) all involve an adverse reaction to gluten and are treated with a gluten-free diet.

Both celiac disease and NCGS may lead to intestinal damage and cause diarrhea, gas, and bloating. The celiac disease, an autoimmune condition can also lead to other health issues, such as stunted growth, anemia, and neurological effects.

Wheat allergy is an allergic reaction to wheat proteins, causing life-threatening health issues. The only way to treat this condition is to eat wheat-free diet, especially a gluten-free diet. Meanwhile, people with celiac disease and NCGS must avoid all gluten-containing foods to control their symptoms.

If you don’t know which food you must avoid treating your symptoms, here is a list of the foods for you:

Foods to avoid

If you have a gluten intolerance, you must avoid eating the following foods:

1. Gluten-containing grains

Gluten-free grains include:

  • Rye
  • Spelt
  • Wheat barley
  • Farro
  • Farina
  • Triticale
  • Kamus
  • Wheat berries
  • Couscous

If you’re gluten tolerant, you must avoid oats too. Oats are naturally gluten-free, but they may get contaminated with gluten during processing.

2. Bread, wrap, and cracker

Most of the breads, crackers, and wraps contain gluten. The only way to know for sure that your product is gluten-free is to read the food ingredients and ensure there is no gluten product.

If you have a gluten intolerance, avoid the following:

  • white bread
  • whole wheat bread
  • whole wheat wraps
  • wheat crackers
  • bagels
  • potato bread
  • rye bread
  • sourdough bread
  • flour tortillas
  • flatbread

3. Certain condiments

These include:

  • Marinades
  • Gravy mixes
  • Ketchup
  • Cream sauces
  • Soy sauce
  • Spice blends
  • Barbecue sauce
  • Salad dressings
  • Malt vinegar

If you want to eat condiments, you can prepare them at home by buying gluten-free ingredients.

4. Most baked goods

Baked goods are made from grains that contain gluten. So gluten intolerant people must avoid these foods:

  • Cookies
  • Cakes
  • Soft and hard pretzels
  • Muffins
  • Pastries
  • Doughnuts
  • Waffles
  • Pancakes

5. Wheat-based pasta

Share on Pinterest

Pasta is a staple food in many cultures. Although gluten-free alternatives exist, most traditional pasta contains gluten grains. You must avoid foods such as:

  • Spaghetti
  • Noodles
  • Dumplings
  • Gnocchi made with wheat flour

6. Snack Foods

Snack foods are a common source of gluten. The snacks that contain gluten are:

  • Granola bars
  • Cookies
  • Chips
  • Pretzels
  • Cereal bars
  • Snack mixes
  • Energy bars
  • Candy bars

7. Beverages

Some beverages have gluten as one of the main ingredients, so ensure to read labels before purchasing them. The beverages that contain gluten are:

  • Bottled wine cooler
  • Beer
  • Drink mixes
  • Premade coffee drinks
  • Drink mixes
  • Commercial chocolate milk

8. Processed foods and other items

Some of the popular food items and processed foods that contain gluten includes:

  • Prepared lunch meat
  • Canned soups and purees
  • Egg substitutes
  • Veggie burgers
  • Processed cheese
  • Hotdogs
  • Puddings and instant dessert mixes
  • Flavored tofu
  • Breakfast cereals
  • Certain ice creams
  • French fries and other fried foods

If you’re’ gluten intolerant avoiding these foods in your diet can help prevent life-threatening health issues. If you still have doubts about any of these foods, get in touch with the WiseRx prescription discount card today!

rx card

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.